10 Best J. Cole Songs Of All Time

J. Cole Songs

Feature Photo: Sterling Munksgard / Shutterstock.com

10 Best J. Cole Songs Of All Time looks at an artist celebrated for his introspective lyricism, storytelling prowess, and social consciousness. His impact on hip-hop is profound, marked by his ability to blend deep, meaningful narratives with mainstream appeal, making him one of the most respected artists of his generation.

Cole’s significance in the music business is highlighted by numerous accolades, including Grammy Awards, Billboard Music Awards, and BET Hip Hop Awards, recognizing his contributions to the genre both as a solo artist and through his record label, Dreamville. His thoughtful approach to music and commitment to authenticity have earned him a dedicated fan base and critical acclaim.

His musical career officially began with the release of his first single, “Who Dat,” in 2010, followed by his debut studio album, “Cole World: The Sideline Story,” in 2011. Since then, J. Cole has released a series of successful full-length studio albums, with no EPs, live albums, or compilations as of his latest releases. Each album has contributed to his evolution as an artist and solidified his position in the industry.

Influenced by the likes of Nas, Tupac Shakur, and Jay-Z, J. Cole’s music reflects a blend of profound lyrical depth, storytelling, and social commentary, reminiscent of his inspirations’ impact on hip-hop. His work has, in turn, inspired a new generation of artists, fostering a space for introspective and conscious rap within the mainstream.

Here now are our ten favorite songs by J. Cole.

10 – Crooked Smile

“Crooked Smile,” featuring TLC, was released on June 4, 2013, as part of J. Cole’s second studio album, Born Sinner. The song was co-written by J. Cole, along with TLC members and producers Elite and Ron Gilmore. It’s an uplifting track that encourages listeners to embrace their imperfections.

Fans love “Crooked Smile” for its positive message and the smooth blend of J. Cole’s reflective verses with TLC’s harmonious chorus. The song stands out for its relatability and J. Cole’s ability to connect with listeners through personal storytelling. “Crooked Smile” reached number 27 on the Billboard Hot 100, showcasing J. Cole’s skill in creating hits that resonate on a deeper level.

9 – Wet Dreamz

“Wet Dreamz” was released on April 14, 2015, from J. Cole’s third studio album, 2014 Forest Hills Drive. J. Cole, who also produced the track, shares a coming-of-age story about his first sexual experience, with a twist in the narrative that has garnered much attention.

The song is beloved for its storytelling, with J. Cole’s vivid lyrics and engaging narrative capturing the awkwardness and anticipation of youthful encounters. “Wet Dreamz” peaked at number 61 on the Billboard Hot 100, demonstrating J. Cole’s ability to craft compelling stories in his music that resonate with a wide audience.

8 – Apparently

“Apparently” was released on December 9, 2014, also from 2014 Forest Hills Drive. Produced by J. Cole and Filipino-American producer Ron Gilmore, the song is a heartfelt reflection on J. Cole’s life, his family, and his career choices.

Listeners appreciate “Apparently” for its introspective lyrics and the emotional depth J. Cole brings to the track, showcasing his vulnerability. The song reached number 58 on the Billboard Hot 100, highlighting J. Cole’s talent for blending personal storytelling with relatable themes.

7 – No Role Modelz

“No Role Modelz” was another hit from 2014 Forest Hills Drive, released on December 9, 2014. J. Cole, who also produced the track, critiques the lack of positive figures in today’s culture, drawing from his own experiences and observations.

The song is notable for its catchy hook and J. Cole’s incisive commentary on societal issues. “No Role Modelz” became one of J. Cole’s most popular tracks, peaking at number 36 on the Billboard Hot 100, and is often praised for its thought-provoking content and memorable production.

6 – Power Trip

“Power Trip,” featuring Miguel, was released on February 14, 2013, as the lead single from Born Sinner. The song, produced by J. Cole himself, is a smooth, soulful track that explores the complexities of love and obsession.

“Power Trip” stands out for its lyrical depth and the chemistry between J. Cole and Miguel. The song reached number 19 on the Billboard Hot 100, showcasing J. Cole’s versatility as an artist and his ability to create hits across different musical genres.

5 – Deja Vu

“Deja Vu” is from 4 Your Eyez Only, released on December 9, 2016. Produced by Vinylz, Boi-1da, and Velous, the song samples K.P. & Envyi’s “Swing My Way.” It’s a romantic track where J. Cole discusses a connection with a woman who’s with someone else.

Fans enjoy “Deja Vu” for its relatable lyrics and smooth beat, which samples Bryson Tiller’s “Exchange.” The song peaked at number 7 on the Billboard Hot 100, further cementing J. Cole’s reputation for creating emotionally resonant and commercially successful music.

4 – A Tale of 2 Citiez

“A Tale of 2 Citiez” was released on December 9, 2014, as part of 2014 Forest Hills Drive. J. Cole both wrote and produced the track, which explores the duality of his experiences in Fayetteville and New York City.

The song is celebrated for its hard-hitting beat and J. Cole’s compelling storytelling, reflecting on the contrasts between innocence and corruption. While it didn’t chart as a single, “A Tale of 2 Citiez” is a fan favorite for its intense energy and lyrical depth.

3 – Love Yourz

“Love Yourz,” also from 2014 Forest Hills Drive, was released on December 9, 2014. Produced by !llmind, Cardiak, and CritCal, the song is an introspective track that promotes gratitude and self-acceptance.

“Love Yourz” is beloved for its poignant message and J. Cole’s heartfelt delivery. The song’s emphasis on the importance of love and contentment over material wealth has made it an inspirational anthem for many of J. Cole’s fans.


“MIDDLE CHILD” was released on January 23, 2019, as a single and later included on the compilation album Revenge of the Dreamers III. Produced by T-Minus and J. Cole, the song addresses J. Cole’s place in the rap game as a bridge between older and younger generations.

“MIDDLE CHILD” stands out for its bold production and J. Cole’s introspective lyrics. The song peaked at number 4 on the Billboard Hot 100, solidifying J. Cole’s status as a pivotal figure in contemporary hip-hop.

1 – Work Out

“Work Out” was released on June 15, 2011, as the lead single from J. Cole’s debut album, Cole World: The Sideline Story. The song, produced by J. Cole with a sample from Kanye West’s “The New Workout Plan,” is a playful track about a casual relationship.

“Work Out” became J. Cole’s breakout hit, beloved for its catchy chorus and smooth blend of rap and R&B. The song reached number 13 on the Billboard Hot 100, marking J. Cole’s commercial breakthrough and establishing him as a major force in the music industry.


Charting information used in the analysis and research of the commercial success of these songs comes from Billboard Magazine Charts


Other sources for important factual information include the band’s website

Further analysis is provided by the writer’s experience as a fan (a very big fan), educator, and music journalist.

10 Best J. Cole Songs Of All Time article published on HipHopGroove.com© 2024

DMCA.com Protection Status

Add Comment

EPMD Songs
10 Best EPMD Songs Of All Time
Usher Songs
Top 10 Usher Songs Of All Time
Scarface Songs
10 Best Scarface Songs Of All Time
Queen Latifah Songs
10 Best Queen Latifah Songs Of All Time
Usher Albums
Our Favorite Usher Albums In Order
Jay-Z Albums
Jay-Z Albums We Love The Most
Chance The Rapper Albums
Chance The Rapper Albums We Love The Most
21 Savage Albums
21 Savage Albums We Love