Our Favorite Kehlani Albums In Order

Kehlani Albums

Feature Photo: stock_photo_world / Shutterstock.com

Kehlani’s impact on the music industry goes beyond chart-topping hits and sold-out tours. This Oakland-born artist has carved a unique space by embracing vulnerability, challenging norms, and advocating for marginalized communities. Their journey, marked by personal struggles and artistic triumphs, has resonated with millions, leaving an undeniable mark on the landscape of contemporary music.

Kehlani’s music delves into the complexities of love, loss, and self-discovery with unflinching honesty. Tracks like “Hold Tight” and “Nights Like This” explore heartbreak with raw vulnerability, allowing listeners to connect on a deeply personal level. This vulnerability, often seen as a weakness in the competitive music world, became Kehlani’s strength, fostering a sense of authenticity that resonated with a generation yearning for genuine expression.

Kehlani, who identifies as non-binary and pansexual, has become a powerful voice for LGBTQ+ representation in music. Their open expression of identity and sexuality, particularly within the traditionally hyper-masculine world of R&B, challenged industry norms and inspired countless artists to embrace their authentic selves. This openness and inclusivity fostered a sense of community for marginalized listeners, finding solace in Kehlani’s music that reflected their own experiences.

Kehlani’s musical style defies categorization. Blending elements of R&B, pop, and soul, their sound is both smooth and soulful, infused with contemporary beats and electronic flourishes. This genre-bending approach expands the boundaries of R&B, pushing the envelope of what the genre can be and inspiring other artists to experiment and explore their own unique sonic identities.

Kehlani is a prolific collaborator, working with artists like Chance the Rapper, Cardi B, and Dom Kennedy. These collaborations not only showcase their versatility but also build bridges across different musical scenes, further amplifying their message and fostering a sense of community within the industry. Their willingness to uplift and collaborate with other artists, particularly marginalized voices, creates a ripple effect of inclusivity and empowerment.


Released 2017

Kehlani’s debut studio album, SweetSexySavage, marked a significant moment in her career, showcasing her versatility as an artist blending R&B, pop, and neo-soul. The album draws inspiration from the early 2000s R&B and was compared to the works of artists like Aaliyah and Lauryn Hill. It reflects on themes of love, self-discovery, and empowerment, resonating with a wide audience and receiving critical acclaim for its lyrical depth and Kehlani’s vocal performance.

The album featured production from a range of producers including Pop & Oak, Jahaan Sweet, and Charlie Heat, contributing to its diverse sound. Kehlani collaborated with several musicians across the tracks, adding depth and variety to the album’s sound. SweetSexySavage debuted at number 3 on the Billboard 200 chart, solidifying Kehlani’s place in the music industry.

The album was recorded at various studios, primarily in Los Angeles, California, over several months leading up to its release in 2017.

CD Track Listings:

  1. “Intro” – 1:47
  2. “Keep On” – 3:29
  3. “Distraction” – 3:54
  4. “Piece of Mind” – 3:46
  5. “Undercover” – 3:03
  6. “CRZY” – 3:11
  7. “Personal” – 3:47
  8. “Not Used to It” – 3:55
  9. “Everything Is Yours” – 3:31
  10. “Advice” – 3:22
  11. “Do U Dirty” – 3:27
  12. “Escape” – 3:20
  13. “Too Much” – 3:48
  14. “Get Like” – 2:55
  15. “In My Feelings” – 3:46
  16. “Hold Me by the Heart” – 3:45
  17. “Thank You” – 3:39
  18. “I Wanna Be” (Bonus Track) – 3:30
  19. “Gangsta” (Bonus Track) – 2:57

It Was Good Until It Wasn’t

Released 2020

It Was Good Until It Wasn’t is Kehlani’s sophomore album, presenting a more mature and introspective take on relationships, personal growth, and the complexities of love. The album’s sound is a blend of contemporary R&B with a minimalist production style, allowing Kehlani’s emotive vocals and candid lyricism to take center stage. It features collaborations with artists like Jhené Aiko, Tory Lanez, and James Blake, adding richness to the album’s narrative.

The album received widespread critical acclaim for its depth, cohesiveness, and Kehlani’s ability to convey emotional vulnerability. It debuted at number 2 on the Billboard 200 chart, showcasing her growing influence and appeal in the music industry.

Recording sessions for the album took place in various locations, mainly in Los Angeles, California, throughout 2019 and early 2020.

CD Track Listings:

  1. “Toxic” – 2:48
  2. “Can I” (featuring Tory Lanez) – 3:00
  3. “Bad News” – 3:51
  4. “Real Hot Girl Skit” – 0:28
  5. “Water” – 2:48
  6. “Change Your Life” (featuring Jhené Aiko) – 3:05
  7. “Belong to the Streets Skit” – 0:26
  8. “Everybody Business” – 2:45
  9. “Hate the Club” (featuring Masego) – 4:01
  10. “Serial Lover” – 3:02
  11. “F&MU” – 2:45
  12. “Can You Blame Me” (featuring Lucky Daye) – 2:47
  13. “Grieving” (featuring James Blake) – 3:53
  14. “Open (Passionate)” – 3:01
  15. “Lexii’s Outro” – 2:03

Add Comment

EPMD Songs
10 Best EPMD Songs Of All Time
Usher Songs
Top 10 Usher Songs Of All Time
Scarface Songs
10 Best Scarface Songs Of All Time
Queen Latifah Songs
10 Best Queen Latifah Songs Of All Time
Usher Albums
Our Favorite Usher Albums In Order
Jay-Z Albums
Jay-Z Albums We Love The Most
Chance The Rapper Albums
Chance The Rapper Albums We Love The Most
21 Savage Albums
21 Savage Albums We Love